Thrift hunter finds thrift box!

ImageImage

I know that you can’t wear this but I found it and thought it was an interesting little piece and some what convenient that I had found it. It only cost 20p so I thought it’s not going to break the bank. I have bought a little bit of history. This is basically an old fashioned money box, as you can see by the names of the sections. Definitely old I thought, I don’t know anyone saving up for coal! Notice there is one label left blank, this confused me. When I was squinting at it a little old lady with very wrinkly skin shuffled up next to me and grabbed my hand. She said “I have not seen one of these for 40 years, I’m 88”. She said some of the rich people used to put their telephone savings in the end slot of the box. I do love talking to the older generation… They know everything!

About Caron Goldman
As a graduate of Fashion from UEL, I have been busy travelling the world and being inspired. Currently, I lecture Fashion, Design & Styling, Pattern Cutting, Construction, and Textiles. I blog about my passion for making jewellery and my fashion hunting adventures. You can follow my adventures and I promise to blog as much as time permits...... also, feel free to get in touch and recommend any charity shops where you've found little treasures. Happy Hunting!

2 Responses to Thrift hunter finds thrift box!

Leave a Reply

