Seeing the New year in wearing 1960’s Oxfam

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Happy New Year!

I wanted to post this gorgeous dress that I found. It is circa 1960’s at some point. From Oxfam again! I have been spending rather a lot of time in Oxfam lately. This beautiful dress was made with a lot of lurex, which made it stand out. This will be my New Year party dress. I think that charity shops can be an excellent fashion resource for special occasions. I often find the perfect outfit for a friends birthday, or a big night out. I hate that feeling when you are going to a wedding and you are worrying about what other people are going to be wearing. I am sure everyone has had an occasion when you go somewhere and another girl is wearing the same dress/top/skirt even bikini. Well since I have been charity shop shopping or vintage I never get that feeling. I will give you a tip for this shopping, know in advance… so you can start looking a couple of weeks before. I advise lots of people that are looking for that perfect charity shop piece don’t always expect to find it on your first shop. You will find something but it might take a couple of trips. My second tip is… if you are not sure try it on anyway. You always find great things when you are out of your comfort zone, just be experimental.

You know what I also take into consideration? How much is this dress? How often will I wear it?

Well my dress here was £8.99 and it will never go out of fashion as it’s vintage. I could well wear it another 20-30 times. I have spent £100’s in the past for a dress for NYE and never worn it again. So get out there and start looking you still have time!

About Caron Goldman
As a graduate of Fashion from UEL, I have been busy travelling the world and being inspired. Currently, I lecture Fashion, Design & Styling, Pattern Cutting, Construction, and Textiles. I blog about my passion for making jewellery and my fashion hunting adventures. You can follow my adventures and I promise to blog as much as time permits...... also, feel free to get in touch and recommend any charity shops where you've found little treasures. Happy Hunting!

Leave a Reply

