How to make Christmas hair pieces

Image

I make something new to wear at Christmas each year. I like to have a little festive hair piece. This is one I made yesterday. They are cheap and easy and they look lovely. I am showing you what I have used but this can be altered. I normally just see what I can find that is cheap.

What you will need:

1. Something with a fine wire running through, the red that is in the picture was about a £1.00 from the market.

2. Some tinsel, I find this works the best with a narrow type as it sits on your head comfortably.

3. Some flowers or bows, I found the flowers on a market stall too, they were ten for £1.00. If you are using flowers it’s best to choose one that already have wire running through them.

Image

Measure the lengths of wire and tinsel around your head and leave an additional 3 cm on each end.

Image

Twist the wire and tinsel together to form a single strand and twist the two ends to form the circle (using the extra 3cms).

Image

Select your desired flowers.

Image

Position your flowers and twist the wire around the circle. Keep adding them until you have the desired effect.

Image

Image

Image

Hey presto! Christmas hair pieces in five minuets flat! Add some sequins to your face for an extra festive finishing touch. I will make another one next week…

About Caron Goldman
As a graduate of Fashion from UEL, I have been busy travelling the world and being inspired. Currently, I lecture Fashion, Design & Styling, Pattern Cutting, Construction, and Textiles. I blog about my passion for making jewellery and my fashion hunting adventures. You can follow my adventures and I promise to blog as much as time permits...... also, feel free to get in touch and recommend any charity shops where you've found little treasures. Happy Hunting!

5 Responses to How to make Christmas hair pieces

  1. Ooh that looks so pretty and sparkly – perfect for Christmas lunches and nights out 🙂

    http://www.mancunianvintage.com

  2. Susan says:

    Looks stunning and so very simple to make. Merry Christmas.

  3. Love them! Great idea!

  4. laurenosully says:

    That hairpiece is gorgeous!xx

  5. Thank you everybody! x

Leave a Reply

